In general, access to benefits ends when employment ends. However, the employer decides how to handle benefits at the end of employment. The employer must ensure that the employee's details in the Epassi system are correct so that the benefit ends automatically on the last day of employment.
Deactivation date
Adding a deactivation date to an employee's benefit account places the Epassi account in a deactive state at the end of that day, after which the employee can no longer use their balance or log in to their account. When an Epassi account is deactivated, you can reactivate it if, for example, the employee is on a fixed-term contract that may continue. Please remember to check that the balances are correct when reactivating an Epassi account. If a deactivation date is added when creating the employee, the benefit amount is proportioned according to the deactivation date. For example, if a deactivation date of 15 October 2025 is added for an employee in January 2025, the system will automatically allocate the January–October share of the full annual benefit amount. If the deactivation date is added after the benefit has already been allocated, the system will not remove the already allocated benefit.
Termination date of the employment
An termination date, on the other hand, removes the Epassi account at the end of that day. This should be used when the employee's employment ends and it is known that it will not continue, or when the entire account needs to be removed for another reason. After the termination date, Epassi benefits cannot be used and the account cannot be accessed. If an termination date is added when creating the employee, the benefit amount is proportioned according to the termination date. For example, if an termination date of 15 October 2025 is added for an employee in January 2025, the system will automatically allocate the January–October share of the full annual benefit amount. If the termination date is added after the benefit has already been allocated, the system will not remove the already allocated benefit.
The Remove employee function removes the employee immediately. This option can be used if the employment has already ended.
NOTE! In Epassi GO service these functionalities are not available, as benefits are distributed on an employee-by-employee basis and the amount can be freely chosen.